Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:53 am

Post subject: recent market conditions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:42 am 

Admittedly I am a novice at investing. I was reading in the paper this morning how investors are putting risky securities into the bond market.

I don't plan on taking any money of of my portfolio or changing existing auto contributions. But I've recently been able to free up a bit extra a month and was wondering might this be a time where temporarily adding to the mortgage would be a good idea? Bonds don't return much, right? And any extra to my mtg is like getting a return equal to the intrest rate.

Just a thought I'd like some feedback on.

Offline Profile   
 Post subject: Re: recent market conditions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:57 am 

sandycheeks wrote:
Admittedly I am a novice at investing. I was reading in the paper this morning how investors are putting risky securities into the bond market.

I don't plan on taking any money of of my portfolio or changing existing auto contributions. But I've recently been able to free up a bit extra a month and was wondering might this be a time where temporarily adding to the mortgage would be a good idea? Bonds don't return much, right? And any extra to my mtg is like getting a return equal to the intrest rate.

Just a thought I'd like some feedback on.

What would you have done if the market hadn't been wonky for the last week or so?

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:08 am 

I would have added the amount to my index funds. You're gonna say "Stay the course" right? I know, probably a wise move.