Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:15 am

Post subject: My Success So Far
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:27 am 

So I have been a follower of the blog and forum for some time, and have made steps to increase my and my wife's financial help. I will spare many of the details, but my plan was somewhere between the ultra-conservative plans of Dave Ramsey (who despises all debt) and the more liberal plans of Clark Howard (who considers access to debt a useful tool, somewhat more than I do).

After I finished my Master's degree, my wife and I were looking at around $60k of student debt. For two adult's bachelors' and masters' degrees, that's not too bad but still a pretty good load. I had a mortgage ($75k on a $90k house), two car payments, and were floating $10k in credit card and other smaller debts (like bank loans).

The fortunate thing is that my wife and my combined income is in the $90k-$100k range and we live in Oklahoma. So the income, while moderate on a national level, is somewhat more impressive in Oklahoma (not trying to boast, but being in OK helps).

We found out in Fall of 2008 we were expecting our first child, and that really kicked me into gear. In early 2009, I got a modest bonus (between 2-3k) which immediately paid off one car and opened up 360 a month in income. We piled that on our credit card debt, and got it down to around a $1,200 or so by May.