Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:19 pm

Post subject: Trying to start out right
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:51 pm 

I'm 22, graduated college last June, and entered the work force in July. Between that time in this, I've taken quite an interest in Personal Finance and am thinking just as much as the future as I am about now each and every day. I'm extremely lucky in the event that I graduated college entirely debt free. (I grew up in a family that preached saving and investing -- my grandpa opened a small fund at a ridiculous 18% interest when I was born, hello tuition).

I found myself a gig in IT Consulting, a great growing company with a decent starting rate ($47,000/year with solid benefits), and opportunity to grow my career. I like my job quite a bit, I like the company I work for quite a bit, and I like the ability to learn something new, everyday. I told myself that I would live quite frugally for a year and really decide where my money should and could go before I dig myself into a hole that I don't want to get into.

When my last roommate said he was transferring to a different school, instead of getting my own place that I knew I could afford (but not save that much -- I need to feel like I am BUILDING for something), I took a different friend up on an offer, to rent a room in their house for a mere 450$/mo with Utilities split 5 ways. This hasn't been my ideal living situation, but it's been fun and really allowed me to get things moving on the right foot financially and to learn about what I can do with my money. I have a lease here until August, then I will move on and probably pay near double for a place of my own. This will be difficult to adjust to.