Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:27 am

Post subject: Hobby Budgeting -- Photography
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:21 am 

I'm a photographer with a real job.

I want to be smart about placing a portion of the income from my real job into my primary hobby.

I'll experiment with using this forum to discuss these budgeting plans and desires.

There are many expenses related to photography, and I've broken the main categories into the following:

o Photo Equipment:
--- Bodies
--- Lenses
--- Accessories (Bag, Filters, CF cards, Batteries, Etc.)

o Lightroom Equipment:
--- Computer Hardware
--- Computer Software

o Production:
--- Physical: printing, framing
--- Digital: website hosting

o Travel:
--- Attending workshops
--- Traveling to locations

o Education:
--- Attending workshops
--- Taking classes
--- Joining photoclubs

After Identifying what I want to spend my money on for my photography, I need to ask myself the following questions:

o Does an expense make my pictures better?
--- High quality (fast) lenses

o Does an expense produce a better product?
--- Monitor calibrator

o Does an expense make my job easier?
--- Camera backpack for hiking-based photoshoots rather than my shoulder bag

o Does an expense put my mind at ease?
--- Nikon lenses vs. Tamron Lenses

Moving forward I'll add further entries that expand on these topics.

-Lane

Offline Profile   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 5:15 pm 
Site Admin

I'm looking forward to reading your journal, Lane -- I'd love to hear more tips about keeping expenses down w/photography.

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Two potential purchases
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:25 am 

Today's entry focuses on two expenses I am analyzing.

1) 3-drive RAID array -- Lightroom Equipment

Reason: Safer data storage
Expense: Approx $200
Does this expense:
o make my pictures better? No