dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Cranky's attempt at a budget/introduction

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:45 am

Post subject: Cranky's attempt at a budget/introduction
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:52 am 

So, I haven't really introduced myself much on these boards yet. So, here is my plan and where I stand for 2009.

I'm a 27 year old electrician / estimator in Chicago IL. I have a wife and 1 kid with a second on the way. This kind of responsibility has shaken us awake to things we need to start doing. Our first kid is only 18 months but after living on one income for a while it has become apparent that steps needed to be taken.
Since I do not know anybody who is financial well off older than me in life, and most of my friends are still making up their minds about their careers... these steps are something that is up to me to discover and research.

Current Status: (end of 2008)
Made 80,000 Gross. About 65,000 after all the taxes.
I have a Condo that we bought a few years ago for 190,000. Our Current Mortgage is 120,000 due to a refinance debacle. It was 100,000.
Wife makes 0 money at the moment.
No Car Payments
No Credit Card Debt.

Goals for 2009: (Let me know here if you guys see anything that can help)

-Get term life insurance for myself and my wife.
-Consolidate all our bills and go through EVERY bill and trim any extra service per month we are not using.
-Redo W-4 So I get more money per week but don't get the 2,000+ tax returns I currently am.
-Save $15,000 and in an ING account I just opened.
-Pay off all medical bills from having a second kid (this may reduce that savings amount)