Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:17 am

Post subject: Al's Journey to Fiscal Fitness
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:39 am 

Hi there! Newbie here!

My wife and I are on the road to financial fitness and I am hoping to avoid repeating the errors of our youth.

Here are some of the highlights of our budget. I am open to criticisms, concerns and general advice.

Current Income (After Automatic Deductions)
$2920

Debt repayment method: Debt Snowball

Current Debt:
Discover Card - $1477 Int 0%
Car Loan - $8,479 Int 11.74%
Student Loan - $14,974.00 Int 8.25%

Automatic Deductions
5% pretax contribution to 401K. .75 on the dollar match
Automatic savings deposits per pay period.
$50.00 General Savings (Bal 102.74) (Just raided this account for some unforeseen expenses)
$20.00 Car Repair (Bal. $31) (Just started this fund)
$20.00 Emergency Fund (Bal $512)
$92.25 Side Job Salary DD into General Savings bi-weekly

Budget:

Tithe: 10% income
Other Charitable Giving: $100

Monthly Bills
CC Payment : 150
Car Payment 383
Sallie Mae: 155
Rent: 335.00
Auto Insurance: $131
Mobile Phone: 162.00 (We have opted not to get home internet or cable. We have data and messaging plans on our phones)
Gym -37.00 (It is a wasted expense. We are locked in for another year and a half. Be gentle. I am aware it is foolish.)
Utilities - $80 (Water/Gas/Elect) I bundle the cost since they tend to flux but balance one another out

Other Expenses
Auto Fuel $240.00
Birth Control $30.00 (This is a priority! Heh. The alternative is more expensive)
Groceries $302.00 (Food, toiletries, household needs)
Clothing $40.00
Hobbies $20.00 (I'm a guitarist. This covers strings, picks, etc.)
Salon/Barber $25.00
Dining Out $280.00 (Lot budgeted here I know. This reflects Actuall spending and not what I Want to spend. This is fast food. Date nights. etc.
Entertainment $40.00 (Redbox rentals, theatre tickets, etc)