Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:55 am

Post subject: Kaitlyn's Journal
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:46 am 

Hi all! I'm a 24 y/o chemist living in LA that needs accountability and advice! I keep bouncing between paying off debt and building savings. I'll spend 6 months building up my savings account, then get irritated that my debt isn't going down, and I'll wipe out my savings! Clearly, this gets me nowhere.

Income: variable. My job is project-based. When we have a major project, it's not unusual for me to work 9AM to 11PM. When we don't have a project, we're encouraged to leave early. Some months I take home $3600. When we're really slow, I don't even make $2000. Generally, it's around $2200/mo. I direct deposit $225/mo into a low-interest savings account.

Lately, we've been on the slow side (thank you California budget crisis).

Debt:

Student loans: $4,500 at 8% - fixed
$7,609 at 7.25% - fixed
$48,475 at 4% - variable. I thought it was fixed when I consolidated, but apparently not.

Auto: $13,537 at 2.9%

AmEx: $2,600 at 0% for 2 more months, then 7%. This is me learning not to spend money you will be earning in 2 months, only to have projects cancel on you. Instead of two $3600 months, I got two $2000 months.

Expenses:

Rent: $750/mo. All utilities included.
Internet/TV/DVR: $117/mo. This should go down, since FIOS just came to my area. I will be getting a quote from them, then asking TW if they can do better.
Gym: $32/mo. This has to go.
Insurance (car+renters): $120/mo. This is pre-paid till November.
Car: $404/mo.
Student loans: $465/mo - I try to pay an extra $130/mo to the highest interest one on this. Depends on if it's a busy or slow month.

Total: $1888.00

Anything left over goes towards food/gas/misc, which usually comes to about $400/mo.

Current savings: $2600.