Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:08 am

Post subject: Early start to positive net worth
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:33 pm 

I am about to turn 22 years old, I graduated college in May with a degree in Electrical Engineering and was lucky enough to have a job lined up which I started in June. I decided then I needed to become educated on personal finance and setting myself up for financial stability, and stumbled across this site which has been a wealth of infomation, thank you!

Regarding my current financial situation:

Cash: $3,600 ($1600 of this is my current E-fund)
Debts: Student Loans (16.2k total - down from 20k) - $4100 @ 2.25 % variable
$12100 @ 6.8 % fixed
Car Loan - $19,800 @ 0% (60 month term)

401K (company matches in full up to 6%) - 2.6k in Vanguard Target Retirement 2055
Roth IRA (just opened last week) - 1k in Vanguard Target Retirement 2060

The car is a 2012 Ford Fusion, which I plan on driving into the ground, I'm not the type that plans to buy a new car every 4-5 years. I'm living at home currently, paying my parents about $400/month for rent/utilities/food, so it's a good deal for me. I'm also paying down my student loans aggressively while I am living at home. Here is my plan going forward:

1) Have student loans paid off by December 2013 (at the latest)
2) Increase emergency fund to $4500 by December 2013
3) Max Roth IRA for 2012
4) Continue to contribute to 401k up to match until student loans are gone, then increase contribution

My current net worth is about -$11.5k, I'll be sure to keep all of you updated on my journey into positive territory and beyond!

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: Early start to positive net worth
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:31 pm 

Good luck on your journey.

Might be worthwhile putting up more of a budget, what your income is, repayments are and so on.