dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Pleb's Journey to Financial Independence

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:07 am

Post subject: Pleb's Journey to Financial Independence
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:14 pm 

Hi, I'm pleb. Until a year ago, I was completely ignorant of money. My parents shielded me from it, and while I was at school my scholarship amounted to "we will take everything you have or accumulate, and give you the rest (plus some loans)". I graduated with a bachelor's and master's from a top-tier school in an employable field, but without a financial clue.

Next, I went on a personal finance binge, reading: Your Money or Your Life; Rich Dad, Poor Dad; The Millionaire Next Door; The Weathly Barber; A Random Walk Down Wallstreet; The Random Walk Guide to Investing; The Total Money Makeover; The Automatic Millionaire; The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need; Risk & Grow Rich; and some other books that were less memorable. The book with the biggest impression on me was definitely "Your Money or Your Life" and I've been more-or-less following its system since I finished reading it the first time a year ago.

My Financial Goals:
- pay off car loan and student loans (soon, within the month)
- buy real estate (1-3 years)
- become financially independent (10+ years?)

I'm very serious about pursuing financial independence as defined in Your Money or Your Life. Financial Independence happens when your investment income is more than your living expenses, and you can project this happening for the rest of your life. From this day forward, money stops impacting your actions. I can't wait.

Offline Profile