dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Roth IRA, so I can be a philanthropist someday!

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:21 am

Post subject: Roth IRA, so I can be a philanthropist someday!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:32 pm 

Even though I do a lot of frugal things, like buying all my clothes at the thrift store, using coupons, and selling items on eBay in my spare time, the success that I am most proud of is definitely my Roth IRA.

I am 26 years old, and when I was a sophomore in college, I became very passionate about donating to charity. I only had a part-time job but I started saving a piece of my paycheck every week to send to various charities that I truly believed in, that addressed issues like the environment and human rights. Several months passed by, and I realized that I had only managed to send off about $100 to these charities, sending about $20-$25 each time I got a paycheck. By that time I was amassing a huge amount of charity junk mail and free gifts like address labels and cards. I became frustrated that the charities were going to spend more money in marketing to me and trying to solicit more donations from me than what I had sent them in the first place. I daydreamed that someday I would be a philanthropist and be able to give large sums of money to charities, to finance significant projects like land conservation or grants. I realized that if I were going to accomplish this goal in my lifetime, I would need to start early. I would need to save money.