Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:48 am

Post subject: Tax Advice
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:32 am 

I'm new to this site, but I've been looking around for a few weeks and I like what I see! With that being said, I may be posting this is the wrong section! Mods feel free to herd me along to the correct pasture.

So here is my situation: I'm a new professional who landed a pretty nice salary of $120k. I have a two finger grasp on what my saving options are. I'm also afraid I'm going to get raked over the coals this year when it comes to tax season! I'm single (not married), no house (deductable mortgage interest), and I have no children (again no deduction). I immediately started putting 4%(company match) in my before-tax 401k hoping. it may help. However, I just looked at the tax brackets and I don't see any relief in sight. I doubt I could set aside the full $17K that I'm allotted and even if I could, I don't know if it would help me. The only deduction I will have is some student loan interest.

What options do I have to help me this tax season?
(Besides settling down and squeezing out a few pups!)

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: Tax Advice
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 5:33 am 

Unfortunately, you're income is going to be to be to high to deduct student loan interest, so you won't even have that as a deduction. Your MAGI has to be $75,000 or less (for single filers) to take the deduction.

Why can't you contribute the full $17,000 to your 401(k)?

Offline Profile   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:38 am 

What exactly is the problem? I'd rather have fewer expenses and pay more tax. There is no situation where your deductions Exceed the tax saved.

Owning a home would help since your non deductible rent would be turned into tax and interest deductions. Contributing to your 401k lowers your income.

Offline Profile E-mail