dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Priorities: Debt, Retirement, Emergency?

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:02 pm

Post subject: Priorities: Debt, Retirement, Emergency?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:09 pm 

As a general question, how do you prioritize? Once you've spent what you need to and what you want to (in your balance money formula for example) how do you decide what to do with the "savings" chunk? Debt, long term/retirement, or emergency? What factors do you consider?

Specifically, here is my situation.
I recently moved from a low paying job to a better job. I have a law degree and am now working as a lawyer. I am 28, single, no kids and none on the horizon. The delimma now is whether to join the 401K at the firm. The 401K has no set matching but does say that the firm could put money in. I don't think that's worth counting on, but could follow up to see if they usually do or usually don't.

And the financial picture:
25,000 in private student loan debt at about 5% interest.
75,000 in federal student loan debt at 6.75% interest on income based repayment.
(Student loan payments today total about $350 a month, and will go up to about $750 next year based on the new job)
13,000 car loan with $375 month payment (at 4%)
$2,000 in savings in a money market account.