Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:10 am

Post subject: How to invest $35,000 if the investment period was 10 years
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:32 pm 

Please give your advice on how you would invest $35,000 that you can add $400 monthly to this investment with trying to make an average return of 5% or more for the total 10 year period. Then in 10 years you would need to cash in this investment and use the money.
If you started this investment before the end of 2012 then in 2013 onward you would have about $1,600 of tax free space left empty in a Roth IRA. You have a 7 month emergency fund, 0 debt, Taxes-married filing jointly, 15% Federal Tax, no state tax. I could also handle about a 15% risk.

Thanks for your help!

Sorry I am new at all of this and what our goal would be if it is even possible is to try to take the 35,000 plus 400/month*10years=$83,000 and with the possibility of losing 15% of that then trying to get the $83,000 into around $113,000 to $120,000 range or more.

Last edited by garcia2012 on Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: How to invest $35,000 if the investment period was 10 ye
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:58 am 

You're question is clear, the other details aren't.

If you're asking where I would invest a $35k windfall for 10 or so years, there's this thing called the stock market. Have you looked at that? You can access just about any goofy idea anyone who has walked the face of this planet can dream up. There are "safe" investments and there are investments where your $35k would be better off on red in Vegas. Certainly, you could find something to appease you in the stock market....

"If you only have 1 year to live, move to Penn...as it will seem like an eternity."

Offline Profile E-mail   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:39 am