dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - How do you decide if an expense is a 'want' or a 'need'?

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:06 am

Post subject: How do you decide if an expense is a 'want' or a 'need'?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:30 pm 

Hi all,

I'm just starting out getting my finances sorted and have started tracking all my expenses and setting a budget. I am starting to record whether each of my expenses are wants or needs so I can start balancing them out to more workable levels.

It seems like some things are obvious needs, electricity bills, groceries, rent. While other things are obvious wants, eating out, movie tickets, replica of the Millenium Falcon.

Some expense items however seem to fall somewhere in between, in a wants/needs grey area. Clothing for example. Yes I need clothing to maintain a respectable appearance at work, but I don't need a $200.00 pair of shoes. Transport - I need to get to work somehow, but do I really need to drive a monster truck?

A particular example that I am struggling with at the moment is my horse. Just like owning a dog or a cat, owning a horse is a long-term commitment and responsibility. I don't need to own a horse (she doesn't plow my fields, she's just my buddy), but I want to. So, when I pay for her food, does that make it a need - because she needs food, or does it make it a want, because if I didn't want a horse I wouldn't be feeding one right now?

Really interested to know what you all think? How do you make these decisions with your finances and does it matter that much?

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: How do you decide if an expense is a 'want' or a 'need'?