Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:51 pm

Post subject: New Grad: Am I Living Beyond My Means?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:59 pm 

Hi everyone,

I am freaking out about what I should do. A little backstory: I have been working full-time since I graduated and living at home, so I have been lucky enough to save most of the money I've been making. I recently got a new job about an hour away from my home, and the commute is unbearable, so I have finally decided that I need to move.

I have had a very hard time finding an apartment since the apartments closer to my work are a "hot"/trendy area. I have finally found one, and I need to submit the paperwork by tomorrow if I want it, but I am very unsure if I am saving too little with this budget. My boyfriend thinks it would be a mistake to sign on this place because it would be such a huge chunk of my finances.

If I did sign on it, my plan would be to live here for a year before possibly moving somewhere cheaper where I can save more.

Here is my breakdown:

SAVINGS
$16k in a CD, $10k in a savings account, $3k in my checking account, $3k in a separate account. I am going to make the max contribution to my IRA this year for my retirement fund.

My parents pay for my phone. I do not have any student or car loans.

Here is the budget I would forsee if I signed on this apartment:

Takehome pay per month: 2400/month
Rent and utilities (including internet): 950/month
Food: 500/month
Renters insurance: 35/month
Gas: 250/month
Misc: 320/month
Savings: 345/month

My question: does this seem sustainable? Are there any huge expenses I am missing in the budget? Would I be better off just trying to find something cheaper? I know the rent is a little higher than the 30% of take-home pay that is usually recommended.

Any advice would be MUCH appreciated!