Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:14 am

Post subject: Socially Responsible Investing?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:35 pm 

I checked out the greencapitalism.org site someone mentioned in a different thread, and it reminded me of a question I've wondered about. I'd be curious to get opinions.

Is there any benefit to investing in socially responsible companies (presumably in place of socially irresponsible companies)?

I have my own opinion on this, but I'd like to hear other points of view...

Thanks,
Sam

Offline Profile   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:13 am 

I'm not an expert on this, but have been following the field for many years.

The way I see it, there are two basic approaches followed by socially responsible investment firms:

1. Screen to exclude "bad" companies (those directly involved in activities that "socially responsible" investors want to avoid, such as tobacco, resource extraction, human rights violations, military support, etc.).

2. Screen to find "good" companies (those that demonstrate exceptional environmental and/or social performance).

You ask if there's any benefit to socially responsible investing, which is a question that can itself be viewed in two ways: 1. Is there a benefit to society and the environment, and 2. is there a benefit to the investor?