dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - What to do with extra funds?

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:52 am

Post subject: What to do with extra funds?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:53 pm 

I am a college professor and recently received my first check for book royalties for a textbook that I wrote. It's around $11,000 after taxes. I'm not sure what to do with the extra money. Does anyone have any advice?

1. Put into emergency savings (ING Direct)
2. Invest
3. Pay down student loans

I'm 38, married with two kids (ages 8 and 6). Both of our cars are paid off. The only debt we have are my student loans ($33k fixed 3.5% rate and interest is 100% tax deductible). Right now, I'm thinking about putting the money in savings. I use ING Direct for my emergency savings. Right now, I have about $22,000 in emergency savings so this would help bump that up a little. I could also invest or help by paying down student loans.

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: What to do with extra funds?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:57 pm 

I don't think I'd be in a hurry to pay back a loan with tax deductible interest at only 3.5%.

That said, if this $11,000 royalty is just the first of several over the next few years I might just put it in a separate account with plans to use it to pay off the loan once you have enough. That's probably not the optimal financial decision but it would just feel kind of elegant to me to pay off my loan with book royalties.