Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:53 am

Post subject: Roth IRA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:28 pm 

I know I should have been saving in previous years but I'm "starting late." I've got about 10k in my Roth IRA (from last year and this year) that I've put in an Etrade account. As a beginner, I think I've made some mistakes in buying and selling stocks with the money and of course not doing all that well.

I'm ready to invest in a "set it and forget it" type funds. I've read a lot of good things about Vanguard but I'm not sure what other "total market funds" I should be looking at.

Is there any advantage in moving it from Etrade to Vanguard or Fidelity or should I just leave the money where it is?

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: Roth IRA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:27 pm 

I believe you post is labeled incorrectly.

Your question is that of what to invest in, not which vehicle to.

I suggest a book, Boglehead's Guide to Investing. It will be (most likely) at your local library.

Stock "picking", which I assume you are doing, is bad for many reasons, but for someone like you, 2 reasons stick out in my mind.

1) With the amount of money (and probably knowledge) you can not overcome risk which can be diversified away. This risk is easily eliminated, and therefore you aren't compensated for absorbing it.

2) "Picking" stocks is incredibly difficult to be correct on timing. The old saying of "buy low, sell high," indicates 2 events. So, if you're lucky once your odds don't increase of being lucky twice.

3) You're getting eaten alive with trading fees, especially if you are trying to diversify at all.

Okay, that is 3 reasons. I could go on and on....

"If you only have 1 year to live, move to Penn...as it will seem like an eternity."

Offline Profile E-mail   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:49 pm