Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:03 am

Post subject: Career Transition Advice
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:04 am 

My wife and I started a business in March of 2011 while still working full time. The foundation was laid and the business grew enough for us to start considering changes.

I taught 7 years in public education and this year I did not renew my contract. I've been working our business full time since September 1. Also, my wife is transitioning from a salary employee to a contract employee in December so that her schedule will be flexible enough to also work our business. With both of us essentially changing our careers we are faced with question of what to do with our current retirement funds, as well as what to do going forward.

Being a former teacher, my retirement is in the Teacher Retirement System of Texas. To be honest, this fund has not been gangbusters. I am faced with the decision to leave it with TRS and let it gain 5% or move it with a brokerage.

My wife's retirement fund has performed much stronger than mine. I taught for 7 years, my wife has been at her job 5 years, and her fund has more than doubled mine. Again, the question is whether to leave it or move it.

There is also the question of what to do going forward. We are not in a position of trying to maintain and grow wealth. We are in a position of wanting to create/build wealth. I know many people refer Vanguard as a brokerage. However, right next door to my business is an Edward Jones and I like the idea of having a face I can meet with.

Please discuss.

Last edited by vanderbilt79 on Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Offline Profile   
 Post subject: Re: Career Transition Advice
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:22 am