Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:40 am

Post subject: Where to start
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:34 pm 

Hi, I'm fairly new to investing - didn't pay much attention to it in my first career because I had a pension plan, now in my second career I'm trying to make sure I and my family are ok when I really retire. I searched the board for newbie and dummies first, didn't get too many hits, so if there's a "how to do this" post or thread somewhere else, please point it out to me.

As my moniker suggests, I am retired Air Force, and now receiving a pension. As a military member, I was poor for many years, then went through a divorce, so I left with pretty much my pension as my only assets upon retirement. I also own a rental house in another state - breaking even on cash flow right now: rent - management fees - mortgage = -$20. So, I'm not making income today on the house, but it will be paid off when I'm 70, and I'm trying to accelerate the mortgage so it's paid off in conjunction with real retirement. Right now, if I add all of my military pension benefits, my expected SS at 77, my expected rental income after the home is paid off and what I won't be paying in child support at that time compared to what I make in pre tax income now, I'm at about 77% - meaning my adjusted income after retirement is 77% of my current middle aged income. So, I'm not expecting to be destitute, but I do have to be careful, and of course not carry a buttload of debt into retirement. And naturally, major changes to SS like severe means testing will wreck this plan.

So, what I need to figure out is how to spend the next 22 years investing.