dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - convincing my wife to invest more...

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:06 pm

Post subject: convincing my wife to invest more...
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:40 am 

Hi all -

I've been maxing my 401k for a few years now and my wife who is a teacher contributes 11% to her pension fund. I was looking into further investing and came across the backdoor roth (our income is too high for traditional). I'd like to do this, but am having a bit of trouble convincing my wife. She wants to save, but also is interested in a home renovation in a few years. So by adding the backdoor to our investment mix, for the next four years, we'd have an additional $40k+ in our retirement accounts, but have $40k less cash saved for a home renovation. We'd still be saving, but this certainly would have an impact on our rate. Right now we don't have investments outside my 401k and previous Roth IRA. The rest is in cash or equity in our house (~20%). In my mind, until we have maxed out all tax sheltered retirement investments, we shouldn't be investing otherwise (or saving too much cash for a renovation). Just curious what your thoughts are. Our income this year will be around $200k. So a 401k is only saving about 9% of our income specifically for retirement. I don't really know how to factor in her pension @ 11% though, since it isn't like a traditional investment. That is about $6k per year.

Any thoughts, advice, things I could share with my wife would be apprecaited!

Offline Profile   
 Post subject: Re: convincing my wife to invest more...
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:13 am