dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Is College worth it.

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:26 pm

Post subject: Is College worth it.
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:46 pm 

I have been a Chef for over 10 years now. I am 32 and about 1 year into my bachelors degree. I want to work with anything that will pay me to travel. Cruise Lines, Hotels.com, a CFO would be were I want to go. I want out of the Kitchen.
My question is this. Is college were I need to be. Is it worth it. Where do I start when I get my degree and have been nothing but a Chef for years.

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: Is College worth it.
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 9:03 am 

trace wrote:
I have been a Chef for over 10 years now. I am 32 and about 1 year into my bachelors degree. I want to work with anything that will pay me to travel. Cruise Lines, Hotels.com, a CFO would be were I want to go. I want out of the Kitchen.
My question is this. Is college were I need to be. Is it worth it. Where do I start when I get my degree and have been nothing but a Chef for years.

You will have 0 chance of becoming a CFO without a bachelor's degree and you will likely need an MBA for that position as well.

I do not think college is necessary for everyone, though it is becoming that way. But with your stated goals, yes, you will need a college degree.

Offline Profile E-mail   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:34 am 

Where you think you need to start now, and where you think you will need to start when you are done with your degree will most likely be different. And to add to that, where you actually start may be different as well.