dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - Learning to ask the right questions

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:59 pm

Post subject: Learning to ask the right questions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:01 pm 

I recently have felt very lost. I'm a computer repair tech, but I've hated the tech jobs I've had--not because of the technical component, but other aspects. I even semi-successfully ran my own business for a while, but hated it too! I was not good at it, I have trouble saying no to unreasonable requests.

My wife and I recently paid off our condo, it's a magnificent thing, our cost of living is literally under $500/mo and that leaves a little bit for pleasure. All in all, our situation is great!

The down side is we don't have much money left over, when we paid off the condo we pretty much drained our accounts dry--fine with me, I've got a deed in a homestead state now. I've been making bits of money here and there, mostly buying dead computers and reselling them after repair, but nothing substantial. My wife works part time at min. wage and we actually make a small profit every month, but nothing much. Not enough that I can wait indefinitely to decide what to do, but we are well enough that I can wait if there's a reason (finding the right job).

I need to get up and decide what I want to do with myself, but I've been stalling. I don't want another job I hate, and there's a silly bit of me that is convinced I'll hate everything! I recently earned my associates degree and have a few low level IT certifications. I love technology and I love fixing things.