Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:46 am

Do you make all your purchases by Credit Card, then pay it off in full every month?
Poll ended at Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:16 am
Yes 57%  57%  [ 8 ]
No 43%  43%  [ 6 ]
Total votes : 14
 Post subject: Credit Card spending plan doesn't work for me
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:16 am 

I've been managing a budget successfully for over 2 years now, spending less than what I earned. Two months ago I tried to change my spending habits to Credit Card spending which would be paid off in full every month. This system has failed for me. It's made me reckless with my spending. More willing to go ahead and buy lunch instead of making it. And spending money was just a little too easy. Nothing extreme, but spending clearly went up by +10%.

I think it was the idea that the money was virtually unlimited. When I spend money from the bank, once a purchase is made, the money's gone. It immediately disappears, so over-spending is impossible. That's not the case with Credit Cards. Overspending is the name of the game, and I realize I don't have the organization or will power to use a Credit Card. I accept that fact, and do like JD says... do what's right for you. Monthly CC spending is NOT right for me. I get it, I've learned my lesson, and I'm fortunate my spending didn't go too far before reverting to my old system.

It's all physiological I know, but if my method keeps savings growing and spending limited, then that's what I need to do. While those nifty rewards dollars sound great... it cost me more than it's worth.

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:35 am 

I've had the exact same experience. Spent more with a credit card.

Offline Profile   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:16 am