Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:33 am

Post subject: 7 Years to Financial Freedom
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:46 am 

In 2003 I started learning about personal finance in order to dig out of a crushing credit card debt situation. In 2004 I weathered a divorce that left me with just under half of that debt to pay off myself. My ex had used my name/SS# to apply for credit, without my knowledge, and the state said, "you were married, community property law, it's half yours, suck it up." So I did. I hit the books, started educating myself, and made sacrifices and got a better job. I now owe about $4.5k to one credit card, where I had owed 25k to three.

In 2005 I decided that 8 to 5 was not for me. I decided that my goal is to build up enough capital that it will generate a small annual stipend that will allow me a regular, if very frugal, income. When I am 45/46, I will get off my golden hamster wheel and "retire." Perhaps I'll start my own small business, go back to freelancing, or take a part-time "fun" job more about the enjoyment than the paycheck. If I want to do nothing, then I can live on the stipend alone and be very frugal and do nothing. I have seven years left to reach my goal.

Mini-goals:
1. Reduce my basic living expenses
2. Pay off debt, including mortgage
3. Increase my savings and investments

Sounds pretty straightforward. I have 7 years to find out if it works.

I'm going to use this journal as a double-check -- are things on track? What's working? What's not? If anyone has suggestions or comments, please post.

Last edited by Gnashchick on Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Offline Profile   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:18 am 

Here's what I owe:
Mortgage: fixed at 5.375%
Credit Card: 4,815. by my estimate, only $2,000 of that is left from pre-divorce debt.