Buying a home? Pay attention to property inspection

A house is the most expensive thing most of us ever will purchase. If you plan to stay put for some time, you could be paying on your mortgage for the next 15 to 20 years. But as any homeowner knows, expenses don't stop at the purchase price and mortgage interest. You'll also pay a small fortune in insurance, upkeep, and repairs over the years.

This is what makes it so important to fully understand the process of buying a home, especially when it comes to property inspection. With so many features and systems, there are any number of things that can break or malfunction in your house. Unlike a faulty appliance that you can take back to the store for replacement or refund, once you sign a contract on a home, there's little recourse should something go wrong.

According to the National Association of Realtors, April through July typically outpace the balance of the year in home sales as people try to get settled before the new school year begins. If you plan to purchase a home soon, make sure you pay careful attention to the property inspection process to save both money and headaches.

The Purpose of a Property Inspection

A property inspection report is a list of issues with the property, such as roof damage or a crack in the foundation. After inspection the buyer has the opportunity to negotiate with the seller and reach an agreement to either repair the property or to lower the sales price to compensate the buyer for the cost of the repairs. Alternatively, the seller can decide to sell the home as-is, in which case he or she is declining to make repairs or lower the sales price, and the buyer must decide whether or not to buy the home at the original agreed-upon sales price.

You may have decided that the property is your dream home, but the property inspection is a much-needed reality check that will point out flaws of which you might not be aware.

Important Note

New houses still need an inspection!

You might think a new house is perfect, but that's far from the truth. In fact, new homes can be even more dicey because they haven't undergone a few inspections like the typical resale house.

When I was in real estate, I mentored with an incredibly knowledgeable agent who would try to talk her clients out of new homes (which often pay agents exponentially more because of builder bonuses). If they still wanted a new house, she would recommend additional inspections at various points in the construction process, and she'd show up for every single one.

During one inspection, she walked into the master bathroom. She noticed something was missing, and asked the builders to come in and see if they could figure it out. No one had a clue. Turns out they hadn't put in plumbing for the toilet.

Review the Seller's Disclosure Notice

The first step in the property inspection process is to review the seller's disclosure notice, a form filled out by the property owner that outlines their knowledge of the properties present condition. If you're working with a real estate agent, he or she can get the disclosure statement from the seller's agent. Otherwise, you can contact the seller's agent, or if the property is for sale by owner, you'll get the notice from the seller directly.

Sellers are required to include everything they know about their property. If, for example, the home was previously under contract, but the potential buyer walked away because a property inspection found major structural damage, the seller is required to include that in the seller's disclosure notice.

As the buyer it's particularly helpful because if the house will require major structural repairs, and you'd rather pass, you can walk away from the property without having to shell out cash for your own property inspection to reveal the same issues.

Hiring an Inspector

If you carefully reviewed the sellers disclosure and you're ready to move forward, the next step is to find an inspector.

Rather than firing up your Internet browser and doing a Google search, contact people in your network to get referrals. Who has purchased a house in the past several years? Do you know anybody in the real estate industry? If you have a buyer's agent, he or she also should have at least three names of inspectors for you to consider.

After you've collected a small list of names, interview each candidate, asking questions including the following:

  • Are you licensed (not required in all states)?
  • Are you a member of a professional organization, such as the American Society of Home Inspectors?
  • Do you have errors and omission insurance?
  • What kind of ongoing training and education do you receive?
  • Do you specialize in certain types of properties? (For example, new homes and certain beachfront properties might need a specialist.)
  • What will the inspection cost?
  • If hired, how soon can you give me a property inspection report?

Finally, ask for a sample inspection report and see if it includes detailed descriptions of features and flaws in the home, which give more information about the property than a basic checklist.

It's important that you make time to attend the inspection of the home. Besides learning more about your AC and where the fuse box is located, believe it or not, you might find issues that the inspector would normally miss. For example, an inspector won't check underneath every rug in the house, but you can, and you might discover a major crack in the concrete floors.

Tip: Though the property inspection report will be invaluable after you purchase a home — it can serve as an agenda for which maintenance and repairs are highest priority — you can make it even more useful by filming the inspection. Don't make yourself a nuisance, but tag along and film as the inspector goes from room to room. (You'll probably want to let her crawl under the house on her own, though.)

Negotiations

Once the property report is finished, carefully read it. Many people don't.

It can be disheartening to see so many things wrong with your “dream” home, but every home will have issues. Some are easy and inexpensive to fix, and it's not reasonable to ask a seller to get a property in perfect condition. Typically buyers will ask that a seller take care of any health and safety concerns; structural damage; deferred maintenance, such as having the air-conditioning system serviced; or problems that require opening the wall, which often reveal much larger and more expensive problems.

Remember that should negotiations go downhill and you want to walk away from the property, the inspection contingency will allow you to do so.

If there are only minor issues with the house, however, typically buyers continue with the original contract. After the contract is finalized, it's fairly certain the buyers are about to become the new owners.

As you can see, the process of a house inspection can have a major affect on a buyer's finances for years to come. If you're in the market for a new home, don't gloss over the inspection report or assume that your agent will show up for you on inspection day and handle any issues. Stay involved in the process, even if you have to ask a million questions along the way. As J.D. often says, nobody cares more about your money than you do.

More about...Home & Garden

Become A Money Boss And Join 15,000 Others

Subscribe to the GRS Insider (FREE) and we’ll give you a copy of the Money Boss Manifesto (also FREE)

Yes! Sign up and get your free gift
Become A Money Boss And Join 15,000 Others
guest
69 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
No Debt MBA
No Debt MBA
9 years ago

An inspection contingency with your offer is crucial. Any real estate agent you’re working with should include one, but it doesn’t hurt to double check. Ours saved us a lot of grief when we pulled out of negotiations on a house.

Jared
Jared
9 years ago
Reply to  No Debt MBA

You don’t even need a realtor for anything. You can get all of the forms and stipulations done yourself. It is important to be 100% involved in the purchase of a new home. Great article!

Scott Roes
Scott Roes
6 years ago
Reply to  No Debt MBA

It is good to get inspection of house before its purchased from qualified home inspector so that shortcoming, discrepencies, other losepoles can be confirmed and it should be got right restored in mean time and correct estimate price of property can be arrived at. and buyer should not be in loss for faulty electric installation, sewerage, furniture, wooden structures etc.

Everyday Tips
Everyday Tips
9 years ago

I always see the importance of a home inspection whenever I watch one of those “Holmes vs Homes”. Quite often an episode is featured where someone bought a home that passed inspection, and then they end up with major problems afterward.

There is no way to be 100 percent sure, but you definitely need to be involved in the process. Hiring a good home inspector is one of the most important things you can do to protect your investment.

J
J
9 years ago
Reply to  Everyday Tips

A common misconception is that a home will either “pass” or “fail” an inspection. That is simply not the case. The inspector is there to present facts. But like you said, an inspector will not get things 100% right, but who does?

Tom
Tom
9 years ago
Reply to  Everyday Tips

I like Mike Holmes, but to be fair, the scope of the average home inspection is not the same as what he is doing. No home inspector is opening drywall. Many don’t use the IR gun. They check that plumbing and other systems are functional.
I’ve noticed lately in some of his shows that he has also been pointing out issues the inspector did identify and the homeowner did not address.
In personal experience, I’ve heard of a couple inspectors who have given refunds for missing something as a courtesy to the buyer.

chacha1
chacha1
9 years ago
Reply to  Tom

I love Holmes on Homes! And yes, your average inspector is not opening up walls. But many times, the whole reason the wall needs to be opened can be seen from the outside, and either the inspector misses it – in many areas, these people do not have to be particularly well trained – or they point it out but the prospective buyer doesn’t know what they should do about it, or even if it’s potentially a big deal. There are some big obvious things that everyone thinking of buying a home should know how to recognize. Roof faults, plumbing… Read more »

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
9 years ago

I’m book marking these tips, thanks! 🙂

One thing I’ve been warned about is to ask about the reserve fund if you’re buying a condo. A friend of mine didn’t and got hit with a big bill and a steep rise in his condo fee when property repairs at the complex couldn’t be covered by the reserve fund. I guess condo corps need healthy emergency funds too 🙂

Yaryna
Yaryna
9 years ago

I can’t agree with this article more! Inspections, though expensive, are essential! We just bought a house in December. Not the one we originally wanted – but a better, more solid one. Yes, we paid a few thousand more for it, but didn’t have to lift the entire house and fix its foundation, or rewire it – problems the inspection of the first house turned up! The $560 we paid to inspect the first house saved us a $200K headache and led us to purchase a better built house we are much happier with that requires MUCH less maintenance…

Lou Lamoureux
Lou Lamoureux
9 years ago

When we bought our first house in 1997, the market was really hot, and the realtor was very aggressive. We didn’t know any better and used inspectors recommended by the realtor (home and termite). BIG MISTAKE. The home inspector glossed over things that were important and the house had an obviously major termite infestation that the inspector swore was not termites. We ended up spending a lot of money to get rid of the termites.

Nancy L.
Nancy L.
9 years ago
Reply to  Lou Lamoureux

We had a similar situation, though we were lucky. We put an offer in on a house, and in our case, the realtor seemed very friendly and helpful, so we used her recommendation for an inspector. The inspector went through the whole house and pronounced it in good shape, claiming that the only fixes that were necessary were cosmetic. Luckily my father-in-law asked us to let a family friend who was a contractor also take a look. The contractor quickly pointed out that there were huge (and obvious once you knew to look for them) issues with the electrical, the… Read more »

Annemarie
Annemarie
9 years ago
Reply to  Lou Lamoureux

This happened to us too. An inspector (recommended by a Realtor friend) thought there was nothing wrong with the cracks in the plaster that a little work wouldn’t fix. Luckily, my husband followed his gut and hired an engineer. (From far away. He wasn’t confident in the local guy.) It turned out the whole house is actually sagging in the middle, sinking into the sand on which the place is built. The house would have to be sliced (yes, cut) alongside the two chimneys,(one of which is an interior chimney and holds up 3/4 of the house) then raised a… Read more »

Paul
Paul
9 years ago
Reply to  Lou Lamoureux

Couldn’t agree more. We learned this the hard way. Here are my lessons: 1) Get your OWN inspector. Inspectors have relationships with realtors/companies out there, and they don’t want to get a reputation for killing deals. It is critical that your inspector is unbiased. Do you think a realtor is going to refer an inspector that killed one of his/her deals? Heck no! 2) DO NOT allow the realtor in the house during the inspection (in our case, our realtor helped gloss over important, and expensive issues) 3) Spend a few more bucks and schedule independent inspections of all the… Read more »

Pamela
Pamela
9 years ago
Reply to  Lou Lamoureux

I think it’s worth asking your agent who they recommend to inspect your house but I wouldn’t make it my only referral. And I’d always ask them, “would you hire this inspector to check out a house you were going to buy” and see how they reply.

Annie
Annie
9 years ago
Reply to  Lou Lamoureux

Happened to us too. We had a home inspection that failed to discover significant damage to two walls in the foundation/basement. Required a $6k repair on a $150k house.

jackowick
jackowick
9 years ago

Inspection gives you a list of items that “need work”, to simplify it. Some will be required for certain permits or for the deal to be closed, others are negotiable. The inspector for my house found a broken basement window (single pane) and I used that in negotiations in a bundle of items since I knew how to fix it. *Please note inspection stories will vary from state-to-state, town-to-town for all sorts of things, but you get the idea. There were some dead electrical outlets, too, which I knew how to repair. I convinced the owners to leave their window… Read more »

Money Beagle
Money Beagle
9 years ago

I’ve bought two properties and in both cases the inspector has been a very valuable asset. In the first purchase, he found that a loud squeak by the front door was caused by a cracked floor joist in the basement. I had the seller repair it as a result of the inspection. In the most recent purchase, nothing major was found wrong, but the inspector was great at noting when things would most likely come due, like having to re-shingle the roof, etc. This allowed me to set up a budget for some of these items to make the pain… Read more »

Rob
Rob
9 years ago

I would also say to get a really good real estate agent. The first time I bought a house, I just picked an agent pretty much randomly. I didn’t know the area that well, so I ended up in a house that was in a declining neighborhood. I probably lost at least $15,000 selling that house. The second time, my wife and I asked friends for recommendations. We got an awesome real estate agent who really did a lot of research for us – showed us which areas had the best appreciation rate and immediately told us what areas we… Read more »

Rene Mayo
Rene Mayo
9 years ago

I had an inspector recommened by my dad and he found wet spots on the roof but it cleared up and no more wet spots. but a co-worker of mine is currently selling his house and there was an offer, so the buyers did an inspection and the guy left the water running at their house for 8 hours because of the well system… Yeah right! At the most run it for 5-10 minutes and that should tell you something. Good thing my co-worker has a well otherwise, he would have gotten a big water bill from the city. some… Read more »

babysteps
babysteps
9 years ago

A good home inspector is invaluable! definitely get references & check credentials, most are pretty good but you want to avoid the “gloss over” ones. In many areas, home inspectors do *not* do pest inspection, you will want to clarify & if so get a separate pest inspection. Also some areas of the country have different “standard” inspections, ask around to make sure you’re not skipping anything (you could be looking at separate inspections of “home”, pest, septic, and radon – I’m sure there are other inspections in some places too) Having a contractor look in addition to/as followup for… Read more »

Megan
Megan
9 years ago

My husband and I almost bought a house a few years ago that, had we not used the inspector, was riddled with problems. Like severe mold in the crawlspace and other areas that you might not typically see in an open house. The inspector stopped about halfway through the inspection and point-blank told DH that we shouldn’t buy this house at ALL. We ended up with a much better house around the corner after that!

beth
beth
9 years ago

YOU MISSED SOMETHING MOST IMPORTANT: Do NOT schedule your survey before the inspection. If you decide not to buy the house based on the inspection and you’ve already paid for the survey, you’re out $300. That happend to me. My inspection revealed that the house’d had a serious fire in the attic and the roof support was at risk. I decided to retract my offer. Since my agent scheduled the surveyor before the inspection, I had already paid for that. Schedule the inspection before everything else so you don’t risk pouring money down the drain.

Pamela
Pamela
9 years ago
Reply to  beth

Actually, you shouldn’t put out any major money before the inspection. Good mortgage lenders won’t even take an application from you until you’ve signed off on the inspection contingency in your contract.

Also, other home buyers reading–in many places, the seller pays for the survey, not the buyer. Ask around to find out what’s customary in your area before you panic about paying another big fee.

Pamela
Pamela
9 years ago

April–Good post about the home buyer’s best friend. When you buy a house, the inspector gets paid whether you buy the house or not making him or her the only impartial professional in the deal. You made a great point about attending the inspection yourself. I think it’s key. But I’d add to your list of questions to ask a potential inspector the role they think you should play as a buyer. Some inspectors consider home buyers pests who get in their way while others like educating people about their potential new house. So find out if your inspector agrees… Read more »

Michael
Michael
9 years ago
Reply to  Pamela

While they are more likely to be on your side if you hire them, they still have a conflict of interest since much/most of their work comes from realtor referrals.

I know a home inspector who consistently lost work because she had a reputation of giving buyers the full truth.

Pamela
Pamela
9 years ago
Reply to  Michael

Relying on realtor referrals can be a big problem. That’s why those of us who know tough, competent inspectors need to spread the word.

Justin
Justin
9 years ago

Im guessing hundreds or even thousands of people get burned every day because they don’t get a house inspection before they purchase!

Of course they’re only hurting themselves, and getting a huge mortgage to buy a lemon of a house is never fun.

smirktastic
smirktastic
9 years ago

Always ALWAYS hire your own inspector. It’s imperative to get an unbiased opinion and the inspector gets paid whether the house sells or not.

Also, if you are selling, it is sometimes helpful to have a home inspection done in advance, which you make available to any prospective buyers. It does not (nor is it meant to) replace a buyer’s inspection, but it can help give the buyer added confidence in the property’s condition and keeps everything out in the open.

Christian
Christian
9 years ago
Reply to  smirktastic

Getting your own home inspection before selling can also help you figure out what you should repair for yourself or plan to include as things that you will pay for. It was much easier for me to take care of some bad downspouts in advance than have the buyers include that as work needing to be done.

Of course anything that is found by your inspector will need to be repaired properly as the next inspector will be looking very hard at those items.

Mike in MN
Mike in MN
9 years ago

1) Hire someone to look for meth use. The chemicals from a meth home saturate the wood & you can NOT get rid of them. They are extremely dangerous. They do cause harm to people, especially your growing children. Once you’re stuck with a Meth House, no one will buy it. Read some stories at methlabhomes.com and prepare to get horrified. (I do not work for this site…google Meth Homes – there are plenty of nightmare stories abound) 2) Contact the local police department and ask for if, when & why the police were called to your address – you… Read more »

Debbie M
Debbie M
9 years ago
Reply to  Mike in MN

My seller put NOTHING in the disclosure, claiming that since they were renting the place out, they had no clue. My realtor-recommended inspector did a very mediocre job, handing over a one-page checklist. Fortunately, I lucked out and the house has been fine.

I think it’s like buying a used car–do your own inspection first before hiring someone. You may be able to eliminate the place for free or to point out extra things to the inspector to ask about.

Cathay
Cathay
9 years ago

I’ve bought perhaps 10 houses in my life. In two of those cases, I hired a home inspector. I paid $350 for each inspection. The first time, the inspector came back with a four-page report that didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know. The second time, the inspector spent four hours seemingly going over the house with a fine-tooth comb. His report was 42 pages long, with photographs, and told me about dozens of small problems I would never have noticed. He completely missed the fact that the house had at some time had an extensive attic fire (something… Read more »

PawPrint
PawPrint
9 years ago

If your sellers are going to make any repairs per the inspection, be sure that you get a reinspection as well as documentation of the repairs. We pulled out of a deal at the last minute because the reinspection showed that the work done by the sellers was shoddy and, in some cases, not done at all, although the “handyman” and seller’s agent said the work had been completed. We hired an inspector from our buyer’s agent list, but weren’t totally happy. On our second offer after the first deal fell through, I went to Angie’s list so I was… Read more »

Mikey
Mikey
9 years ago
Reply to  PawPrint

As a buyer, I always assume I will do the repairs myself and ask the seller to adjust the selling price. As a seller, heck yeah, I do the minimum possible repair.

Consider the inspection a punch list. If there’s too many items, drop the sale, if you can handle it, move forward but do the work yourself.

bon
bon
9 years ago

There are lots of home inspection checklists online that homeowners can use to check alongside their inspector.

Someone needs to come along and supplement with a visual guide – pictures of types of water damage, typical “aging” of a roof, when something qualifies as “pass or fail,” and what to look out for in different regions / geographies.

After having family members get burned on their inspectors it really seems like something I’m going to want to double-check on my own.

krantcents
krantcents
9 years ago

Since I know very little about construction and even less about mechanical things, a home inspection is very important. In my experience, many sellers buy a home warranty to show the seller the mechanical portion of the home is covered for a year.

Catherine
Catherine
9 years ago
Reply to  krantcents

I’m surprised no one else mentioned the home warranty before now. As a seller I have bought one to protect myself in case something goes wrong that I don’t know about or can’t predict, and as a buyer I insist that I get one as part of the purchase price.

Max
Max
9 years ago

One thing I cannot recommend highly enough, even if the house is brand new, is to get a sewer inspection. Your sewer line is unseen and can have latent problems which are like time-bombs, not to appear for a year or two after you’ve purchased the home. I learned this the hard way myself.

An independent sewer inspector (do not use a rooter service if you can avoid it, they may “find problems” that aren’t there.) should run $300 or less, but a sewer replacement can be up to $30,000 or more.

Jonathan @ 185
Jonathan @ 185
9 years ago
Reply to  Max

I cannot agree more. We had a sewer inspection done and ended up having the sellers replace the sewer and water line. It saved us $6000.

A good home inspection will both protect a buyer from making a huge mistake and also allow a buyer to see possible future issues. We didn’t ask the seller to make all the suggested repairs, mostly because we had the sewer done, but we do know what issues we need to take care of in the future.

Catherine
Catherine
9 years ago
Reply to  Jonathan @ 185

I totally agree. House buying is no time to be cheap. Spend the money on a structural engineer if the house is on a slope, get the fireplace and foundation checked out and have a roofer inspect the roof. Don’t be afraid to call in specialists in addition to the general home inspector. I nearly cost myself $75,000 by trying to cheap out on a septic system inspection that my realtor insisted I have. I was tired of taking off work for all the various inspections he said I needed, but he was right. The septic system was completely kaput,… Read more »

LifeAndMyFinances
LifeAndMyFinances
9 years ago

Thanks for the tips April. My wife and I have recently put in an offer on a foreclosed home. If the offer is accepted, we certainly need to have a home inspection. I expect issues, but if there are large problems that will go uncorrected, then I’ll have to be prepared to walk…

lmoot
lmoot
9 years ago

I lucked out. I used the inspector my realtor recommended. He inspected everything, crawling under the crawlspace, checked the roof, and gave me a complete rundown on everything wrong with the house, down to crooked doorjambs and a nick in the enamel of the bathtub.

Because of his estimation of cost I was able to negotiate the house down 10k (it was being sold as-is, and ended up doing most of the repairs myself and with the help of family.

I still use his reports as references.
But, like I said, I lucked out.

KDH
KDH
9 years ago

A home inspection is very important, but we learned the hard way with our first house that it is much better to have the price of the house renegotiated based on the inspection instead of having the sellers fix the issues before closing. We were defrauded by the seller and a formerly reputable electrician over the replacement of knob and tube wiring–they replaced what was easy to get to (and see) and had the electrician include a letter saying that it had all been replaced. If you can have your home inspector perform a reinspection, do, but ours wouldn’t reinspect… Read more »

Amanda
Amanda
9 years ago

I appreciated the recommendation to have a new home inspected. That’s exactly the instance I would have thought it wasn’t necessary!

Mark
Mark
9 years ago

So here’s the flip side to this issue. About 7 years ago we were selling our house in the midst of a really hot real estate market. People were bidding against each other for our house, driving up the sales price. Some sweetened the pot by dropping the request for an inspection. We thought, great. One less thing to worry about. So the day before the closing, they came to do the walk through and brought an inspector with them. He identified a problem with the air conditioning. The law is – inspection or no inspection – all the major… Read more »

Sarah
Sarah
9 years ago

I just spent four hours getting the farm that we have an offer in inspected. I really like our inspector. He goes everywhere and also alerts us to potential problems based in what he can see (i.e. rot behind walls). He’s warned us about the compromised roofline in the barn and the potential steel septic tank. We’re actually going to request an extension on our inspection deadline, so we can get some quotes to discuss with the seller.

ChicagoGirl1
ChicagoGirl1
9 years ago

We had a very good inspector that created a very detailed report and then we found that the sellers were not willing to fix any of the issues or give a credit. We did buy the house anyway due to its unique location but we ended spending a lot more on renovations and fixes than we ever estimated.

Justin @ MoneyIsTheRoot
Justin @ MoneyIsTheRoot
9 years ago

I went with an inspector that was highly recommended by my realtor, in retrospect I shouldve done more research but luckily everything seemingly has worked out fine.

Carrie H
Carrie H
9 years ago

We had a home inspection done prior to purchasing a 120 yr old home which confirmed everything we had thought might be “wrong” with the house. But because the foundation was 4 ft thick limestone and the house was in a wet area, we wanted to have an engineer look it over as well. The seller mentioned that she had the house inspected by an engineer prior to listing it, and could give us a copy of his report thus saving us $1000.00 for a new one. We accepted it, it stated that everything was rock solid, and we bought… Read more »

Trina
Trina
9 years ago

My understanding is that in PA the Realtor is not permitted to recommend an inspector for this very reason. Other states may be the same, but YMMV, of course!

Katie B.
Katie B.
9 years ago

April, thanks for the informative and timely advice! On my to-do list for yesterday was to call and interview home inspectors, so I was particularly delighted to see your article on GRS first thing in the morning!

John-Michael
John-Michael
9 years ago

There is no such thing as passing an inspection.. there is no pass or fail. Its used simply as a buyers guide to know what they are actually purchasing and what items will need to be addressed immediately and long term. There are different inspections too. Pest and Structural, general inspection, chimney, roof, etc. The 1st inspection is good for calling out dry-rot, termite and structural problems. The general inspection goes through the mechanics of a home and service life of items like roofs, appliances, furnaces, water pressure, piping, etc. Most buyers are not aware of that a general inspection… Read more »

First Step
First Step
9 years ago

As an office manager for a real estate agent, here’s my two cents. If you don’t trust your real estate agent’s recommendations, get a new agent. Seriously, if you think the agent is just out to close your deal, you need to find someone that you are more comfortable with. I wouldn’t work for my boss if I thought she was misleading clients. I realize not all agents or the vendors they recommend are trustworthy, so you should go with your gut instinct. We recently went through four contracts with a couple that fell through before they finally closed on… Read more »

Debbie M
Debbie M
9 years ago
Reply to  First Step

I totally trusted my realtor, but I was mistaken. Also, my gut is deficient and does not produce instincts. Some people have a sense of direction, some people have gut instincts–I have to find other tools for those jobs.

brint
brint
9 years ago

well fuck YEAH! I got reamed by a shitty inspector. His price was right and he had no experience on older homes – and ours was 150 years old. He missed shit that depleted our spirit and lucre. Look for an asshole who is going to write up the smallest problems and then beat the seller over the head with it. There are no friends in property transactions

Samantha
Samantha
9 years ago
Reply to  brint

Moderator…?

SLCCOM
SLCCOM
9 years ago
Reply to  Samantha

It sounds like one really fed-up victim. I know from whence Brint comes…

Jen
Jen
9 years ago

Yeah, I know someone who moved into a new house, started to take a shower and the pipes hadn’t been connected properly, making a huge mess!

MrsKruse
MrsKruse
9 years ago

We gave up using certified home inspectors…everyone we talked to refused to guarantee their recommendations & opinions. I sure as heck wasn’t going to pay $500 for someone to give me an opinion that they wouldn’t stand by. Instead, we hired a local architectural firm…they charged me about $1000, but they had two folks out at our house (a “home inspector” and an architectural engineer) for several hours. And I had a report that they were willing to stand behind (which came in handy when we had to threaten to sue our builder). Our realtor recommended a home inspector, but… Read more »

Susan Ayers
Susan Ayers
9 years ago

Ahhh I wish I had hired my own inspector when I bought my house.. This was my first purchase, I did it all by myself, with no one to assist.. Yeah.. I got an inspection. It was with THEIR inspector. Everything checked out except ONE plug in the bathroom.. replaced it, no problems.. until literally, the first night in the house. All I can say is, the movie The Money Pit? I think I bought that house… Turned out the foundation was cracking because the retaining wall was sinking. Turns out the electrical was sub par and dangerous. Turns out… Read more »

Phiilip
Phiilip
4 years ago
Reply to  Susan Ayers

Wow!!!
I’m debating to buy a 1956 house in 2016. It looks great outside and in. There will probably be a bidding war. I don’t want to lose this deal so I’m bidding much over the asking price. I was debating if I should have an inspection knowing that others might not do the same. But I think it’s best to have an inspection done. Thanks for sharing your story. Better luck on your next house.

Camden
Camden
7 years ago

It’s imperative a property report and survey is undertaken before you buy, the survey should identify any costly defects, roof reports are more important.

Performing Agents
Performing Agents
6 years ago

That’s a great point that new homes still need an inspection, not everybody realizes that!

All around, excellent article, thanks for sharing so much info, the author obviously knows what they’re talking about!

Regards,
Mike
P.A.

Get The Best Home Inspection Services
Get The Best Home Inspection Services
6 years ago

Your blog is really useful for everyone who are planning to buy a home with their hard earned wealth. I like the tips that you have shared.

Dketeldijk
Dketeldijk
6 years ago

Thank you so much for the advise. Inspections are a must. And so is listening to neighbors in the area of the New home. The thank you again!

Mr Thomas
Mr Thomas
6 years ago

property inspection is very much required while buying a home, it will help to find the real value of the property as per the experts point of view.

Weris
Weris
5 years ago

Exactly, the termite and pest infestations would be harmful to the properties of the home. So, before buying the new home we have to check out the corners of the furniture and walls. It is the first and most important step towards the safe and clean living.

Allena Smtih
Allena Smtih
4 years ago

Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such excellent info being shared freely out there.

Victoria Huntington
Victoria Huntington
3 years ago

In my opinion make sure that all the mechanicals are in working order. Also make sure windows and insulation is satisfactory. At the end of the day get a qualified home inspector to look at the house with you.

shares