dcsimg The Get Rich Slowly Forums • View topic - College Student - Special Situation

GRS Home  Forum Home
Bank Rates Center
   Savings Account Rates
   Money Market Rates
   Highest CD Rates
Insurance Rates Center
  Auto           Health
   Life              Home
Mortgage Rates Center
  Mortgage Rates
  Mortgage Quotes

Last visit was:
A place for Get Rich Slowly readers to ask questions
and exchange ideas
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:29 pm

Post subject: College Student - Special Situation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:54 am 

Hey all, I'm new to this whole personal finance thing, so bear with me!

I am coming to college on a full-tution scholarship through Army ROTC. I have my rent covered, as well as books, fees, etc. Basically I spend money on groceries, clothes, and sports supplements. I am a dedicated rugby player and amateur boxer so that is where a lot of my time goes to, as well as Army ROTC.

My question is this: I own a car outright (1999 Toyota Camry), will have no student debt when I graduate, no current debt, own no credit cards, and have a guaranteed career as an Army Officer (50k/year starting), how much effort should I put into saving at this point in my life? Or am I okay to use my monthly income from work-study (about 500/month) on "wants" (travel, parties, nicer clothes, etc) rather than building up a 6 month emergency fund, etc, etc like Dave Ramsey and others suggest?

I am on my parent's insurance still, and have a good relationship with them if something TERRIBLE were to happen, and I just was looking for counsel on whether I need to avoid being "too responsible" at this time in my life?

Offline Profile E-mail   
 Post subject: Re: College Student - Special Situation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:44 am 

$500/month seems like a lot for "wants" at your age...

Offline Profile   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:59 am 

stannius wrote:
$500/month seems like a lot for "wants" at your age...

My thoughts exactly.

Quote: